Promises of Honor

Seeing as how July 4th is Independence Day, I suppose now is a very appropriate time to reveal this.

Promises of Honor is a Choicescript game I’ve been working on for the last six months or so, writing on and off again. Set in a fictional world much like our own, you play the role of a junior Royal Navy officer in the Kingdom of Alban, tasked with defending the territory and maintaining the laws of the Kingdom’s Columbian colonies. However, following a great war with Alban’s colonial rivals, the colonies have grown restive and unruly. You will decide the fate of these colonies, suppressing their traitorous rebellion or aiding them in their campaign for freedom. It is the year 1765, and time grows short.

Well, with all that said, I’m nowhere near done with the game. In the six months I’ve been working on it I’ve written three scenes, only one of which is good enough to show publicly, which is the segment linked here.

https://db.tt/mhdragYh

I write slowly and I have other projects that I’m working on, but I hope to complete an epic story, possibly in several pieces, that allows you to follow full story paths for several factions. You can be a loyal navy officer, commanding your own ship or squadron. Or you could join the rebel colonists, and use your cunning and diplomacy to outwit or outfight the powerful Alban Royal Navy. I have ideas for other factions, but since they’re just ideas right now I won’t bring them up here.

I’ll gladly read and respond to any feedback you have for me. I’m particularly worried about clarity regarding player stats, the writing style (is it too purple or inconsistent?), and whether different choices feel too similar in result.