Opinion on novel series (non-interactive)

low-fantasy

Hi all!
I’m new to the site, and making this post as both a hello, and an offer/opportunity for you guys. I’m an amateur novelist, and I hope that alone doesn’t scare you away, but I’d really like some feedback, or just general chats about some of my work. I know it isn’t the interactive stuff you’re used to, but I’d appreciate anyone giving it a shot.

If you’re giving feedback, you’re welcome to say positive and negative things! I’m up for everything as long as it’s constructive.
I’m also just willing to chat with people if you don’t want to be super formal (not that feedback has to be either)!
Anyway, I have a link below, and I appreciate the read!

Quick notes:
The novel is of a more fantasy nature, and does contain many LGBT+ characters, and themes of equality, so if you, for some reason, have an issue with that, please stay away.
This book below is one of three.
Thanks!
-Em

Opinion on an amateur novel (Book 2 of the series)
Opinion on an amateur novel (Book 2 of the series)

I think the general age of the imprisoned one should be established early on.

There’s prison, chains, doors, bars… but this does not mesh well with “A boy uncovers the secrets of the largest military organization in his world” in my mind because I don’t want to read about juveniles in prison.

The title of the introduction can be good, about the end at the beginning, but if so, you could start off with something like “I never expected to spend my 25th (or whatever) birthday in prison.”

This establishes the character’s age as well as the setting.
It also shows us a hint of “yeah, I probably shouldn’t have done whatever it was I did to get here” which makes the reader want to read more to find out what those events were.

Thanks for the reply!
I can add the age in there for sure.
I appreciate the feedback! The rest of the novel is up there if you’d want to check it out.