Noob question, reusing code with label

Very noob here, trying out a proof of concept. Is there a way to reuse this code/sentences, or at least do it in a way that I don’t have to type it multiple times? When I try using *label above those two lines, it still takes me to the French name choices when I select the Germany option. What am I doing wrong? How can I “close” the label tag?

*label pc_nationality_options
*choice
	#France
		*set pc_country "France"
		*label newname
		You come from ${pc_country}
		The officer looks at you. "Last name?"
		*goto pc_name_French
	#Germany
		*set pc_country "Germany"
		*goto label newname
		*goto pc_name_German

Thanks!

You can use the *gosub command here. More info on this wiki;

You can use the *goto command to move to another label. You can check this page here;

Hope this helps!

2 Likes

I’m pretty new myself, but in your example, it seems you’ve placed the *label newname tag under the ‘France’ choice (just below *set pc_country “France”) and under your ‘Germany’ option, you’ve placed a *goto label newname command instead of a *label newname tag, which will take you to the ‘France’ portion.

1 Like

Hi, is this was you’re trying to do?

I have Implicit Control Flow turned on; if you don’t, you would need to add *goto after *if and *elseif

2 Likes

Quick note: *label pairs with a *goto of the same name.

Take a closer look. Under your #Germany choice option, you have *goto label newname. 1) this is an invalid snippet; correct one would be *goto newname, 2) see where is your newname goes.

Spoiler
*label pc_nationality_options
*choice
	#France
		*set pc_country "France"
		*goto newname
	#Germany
		*set pc_country "Germany"
		*goto newname

*label newname
You hail from ${pc_country}.
[n/]The officer looks at you. "Last name?"
*if pc_country = "France"
	*goto pc_name_French
*elseif pc_country = "Germany"
	*goto pc_name_German
1 Like

Question, isn’t *gosub for when the code contains commands, not for when it’s text?