More Things in Heaven & Earth – WIP (Updated 19th Mar 2021)

The story of Hamlet (sort of) as told by Ophelia (sort of). Think Shakespeare, but with more female agency.

Use your choices to shape Ophelia and her role in the play. Build relationships with the residents of Elsinore Castle and use them to strengthen Claudius’ grip on power, usurp the throne or leave the kingdom forever. Save your friends and family from their unfortunate ends or damn them to their tragic fate.

Hello!

So, I am pretty new to the world of CoG (although it has been a notable feature of my 2020 and lockdown)! This started out more as a coding project than a writing one, one thing led to another and here I am with my little demo.

Play it here: https://dashingdon.com/go/7327
Check out my Tumblr for more regular updates or to have a nice long chat about any aspects that you don’t want to clog the forum with: morethingsgame.tumblr.com

Features
  • Play as gay, straight or bisexual.
  • Choose Ophelia’s personality and skills and help her develop as she progresses through the play.
  • Make choices to change the course of the play, rescuing the characters from fate or damning them to it.
  • Influence who ends up on the throne, take it for yourself or abandon Elsinore altogether.
Romance Options
  • There is a heavy romance element in this story. In the original play, Ophelia is very much controlled by the characters around her. While this retelling is very much about Ophelia calling the shots, her relationships with the people around her will still be of great importance.
  • There are 6 romanceable characters: 3 male characters (Hamlet, Horatio and Reynaldo), 1 female character (Marcella) and 2 whose gender is determined by Ophelia’s selected sexuality (Guildenstern and Rosencrantz).
Feedback I’m looking for
  • What did you like/dislike?
  • What do you think of the characters?
  • How are you finding the pacing? Are there any sections that drag on for too long or rush by too quickly?