Ideas for Dealing with Writer's Block - Master Thread

So… I am the master of procrastination and pushing things aside for later. I have been working on my game for over 5 years, I believe, probably even more. I have the beginning, middle and end already plotted out and have the outcomes of every character in mind already. Problem is that it’s been over 5 years, and so far all I have written is a good chunk of the first chapter finished, not even long enough for a beta test, and I already feel like this story isn’t going anywhere. Alongside total revamps and multiple hiatuses, it just seems I’ve never been in the perfect spot to complete this story. Sometimes it feels like my story won’t ever see the light of day.

I have had five year long writer’s block and the moment I actually went out of my way to start the story, I was hit with it again.

Is there anything you guys do whenever you’re hit with this problem? Not only for my sake but maybe for other people who might be suffering from this same thing. Are you guys in a similar situation? Do you have it worse then me? One thing that sort of has been working for me is to just stop writing altogether and start rereading chunks of the story that I feel the most proud of writing and pray that my past self could inspire my present self to continue writing.

3 Likes

I have a routine that I do to alleviate this very problem.

1:Music, try listening to some music that doesn’t have lyrics . this makes mental processes not become confused with the lyrics and you still reap the benefits . Kyle Landry has a youtube channel , and he does many wonderful covers with his piano.

2: Try reading up on some writing prompts. I know this sounds bad but trust me , I have made this a regular routine. I look up story starters (Basically the first line in a story), Au writing prompts, dialogue prompts. Also, I have a website that is full of writing prompts that are promptly organized by genre, subject and then also subplots.