Hello

I’m new here and just thought I’d say hello and introduce myself, as is customary on some forums. I was doing a google search for tools to write interactive fiction–the choice-selection kind, not the parse-arbitrary-text kind–and my search eventually led me here. I’ve downloaded Choice of Zombies on Kindle, played through it about ten times so far, and I’m not tired of it yet. I also downloaded ChoiceScript and have the first scene of a game well underway.

I’m impressed with what I’ve seen so far of ChoiceScript. There are a few things I think could be better, but so far I’ve been able to do everything I’ve wanted to do, and that’s the main thing.

I’ve been involved with the Tunnels and Trolls community for a long time, writing pen-and-paper solo adventures, so I’m not exactly new to writing programmed adventures. I’m also a programmer by trade; I know my way around Java and JavaScript, and compared to them ChoiceScript is a breeze, as long as you get your indentation right. I keep wanting to put semicolons at the ends of my ChoiceScript statements. :slight_smile:

Anyway, hello, and I look forward to discussing Choice of Games and ChoiceScript with everyone.

Welcome, good another person I can bug on coding questiosn lol. I’ve been around a while trying to forge out a story, but do not have any coding background so going is very slow for me. Nevertheless I think we have a great community here and it’s always nice to see a new face that has an intrest in choice. So what are you planning for your first story.

Greetings, @Lordirish! Feel free to ask me anything. If I can answer I will, and if I don’t know something, I won’t pretend I do.