Call to Adventure - Work in Progress

So I’ve had way too much free time on my hands lately, and I’ve started working on a Choicescript game.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/86817576/web/mygame/index.html

Call to Adventure is sort of my homage to old school fantasy RPGs. The main story involves gathering allies as you go on a quest to defeat an evil warlord, with a heavy focus on character and story. There’ll be companion quests, romance sidequests, moral decisions, all that sort of stuff.

This is my first time writing or coding anything this complex, so technical, story, all kinds of feedback would be really welcome.

4 Likes

Very nice, I like the story. It moves nicly and draws you in. Did not hit any errors.

Hm, I like it so far, the exposition could have been delivered a bit better, rather than just heaped on from the characters. I liked the implementation of stats, it felt nice helping the town out. But that said, the town could definitely use more flavor, we need a reason to care about the town, to want to defend it to the death/avenge it. Or less vague reasons for the protagonist to want to defend/avenge it.

I Like It

I would add different classes like mages or archers. Other than that I liked it. Im thinking of making a game now…

It’s super good, I like the different sloutions to problems. Keep up the good work :slight_smile:

Just played the game, my game was good at intelligence but was decent in charisma and combat. I love the style of it, can’t wait to see more of this. Def Bookmarking this one.

That was really good bravo

Thank you so much for all the kind words, I’m really glad people liked it.

@13ventrm What do you think would help give the starting town more flavor? I’d like it to stand out as a distinct place of course, but I also don’t want to dictate too much to players about how their characters should feel.