A Hero's Journey

I’ve begun work on my new game A Hero’s Journey. In it, you play a wizard/ bard/ guard/ thief.

To play the demo, go here:

Link

Here!

As of right now, it’s not much, but a few key things I wanted to touch upon:

Would you guys be interested in being a Guard who secretly works for the Thieves Guild (or vice- versa)

I’m planning on having a part where you can hire some recruits, 2 you have to have accompany you, and you can pick 2 more (e.g. if a [CLASS] you’ll get Bob and Jeff always, can pick 2 between Geoff, Jim, Jimbob and [Specific Class helper guy])… so teams of 5, including you.

Also, I’m expecting to finish this short- medium (like maybe 200-300K (including code) word) game in a year or so, probably before, since I’m a student and all that jazz.

Current Progress: 12%

Startup: Set background, main skills, etc. [10% of total game]
The 10% is split into Noble background [DONE], Wizard background [DONE], Orphanage/ Weird abandoned child place [DONE] and the Family Home background [DONE], at 2% each (other 2% will be **general startup stuff [DONE])

Then there is a bit dedicated to meeting and possibly recruiting all the different peeps, which is literally the only thing I’m focusing on, no worries.

Next is creating and testing the combat system

You’ll either fight a wizard, defend family home, defend land (&fight political rival) or fight magical bandits and/or guards, depending on background.

Can buy some cool items, get some cool items for free, and hire mercenaries (who will die, even the main 2 guys will hopefully not be game-immortal, and you can die even if all your meat shields esteemed companions are alive.

On romance-- there’ll be some romance but nothing too much, safe for all ages

76 Likes

https://www.swoonreads.com/blog/ask-an-editor-young-adult-vs-new-adult/

2 Likes

Ah thanks!