A Crack in the Spyglass [WIP] *Poll* 6.1.2020

acits_postcard

Hello all! This is a story/world I’ve been building for several years that lends itself so well to this format that I decided to make it a game instead of a novel. I’ve been dabbling in interactive fiction for years but was never very serious about it until now. This is a story I’ve wanted to tell for a long time, so I’m really glad I finally found a satisfying way to do it.

-PLOT-

• Something strange is happening in the land of Midgautt. The southern elves have opened their borders for the first time in nearly 1,000 years and refuse to say why. Rumors fly about a great rift opening in the sea near Taeggyra, swallowing all ships and creatures who come too close. And the festival—there is something strange going on with the festival.

• Play as two MCs: The Mercenary, a former adventurer now living in the human realm and working as an unsatisfied investigator; and The Painter, an apprentice to a potions master who yearns to leave the capital and see the world.

-ELEMENTS-

• Be male, female, or non-binary
  • Be straight, gay, bi, aromantic, or asexual
  • Romance nearly any named NPC in the game (meaning that they show up under “relationships” on the stat screen)
  • Wield magic as a gods-blessed illumaei, sorceress, blood mage, or valla elf; wield weapons as a human or an elven ranger, sentinel, or brigand
  • Negotiate, seduce, sneak, or battle your way through the many realms of Neprenia
  • Journey alone or with unique mortal, animal, and mechanical companions
  • Use magic to create constructs, summon monsters, curse enemies, and more
  • Win a tournament of Pendire: The Card Game of Thieves

-DEMO-
You can now play the first two chapters, which have a word count of 64,000.

Play the demo: https://dashingdon.com/go/4030

Tumblr, updated ever 1-2 days: https://ignifexgames.tumblr.com/

-MY GOAL-